Monuments by light

Thomas Jefferson, one of the Founding Fathers, one of the authors of the Declaration of Independence, and the third president of the United States of America. His memorial is located nearby the Lincoln Memorial, the Martin Luther King Memorial, the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial, and many others. Today, I’d like to share something about the past few days in D.C. with you.

The last time I blogged, it was the day after the 4th of July, Independence Day. We actually didn’t go to the Monument by Light tour then, it started to storm, so we figured that we might skip the tour. Since Wednesday, I’ve had classes, went to explore Georgetown, and we did another Monuments by Light tour, with just the four of us; Magda, Gosia, and Niklas – who’s leaving us today, unfortunately… Let me just say first, I didn’t expect a neighborhood here in D.C. to be that beautiful as Georgetown is! The houses are so colorful, it kind of looks like a mini Great Britain in the US! Unfortunately, I didn’t bring my camera, so I have to go back once more, or maybe twice, to make some photos!

Classes are going well too. It’s not that hard actually, so I might end up at a higher level next week, we’ll see. I’ve also had one of my SPiN-classes: Special Interest classes. This week, we discussed Whitney Houston, one of my absolute favorites! My teacher is really the nicest lady, she’s patient, caring, and always willing to help you out or give you recommendations for the weekend!

Yesterday, it was Niklas’ last evening in D.C. so we decided to do a Monuments by Light tour of our own since we missed the organized one because of the thunder. We started at the Washington Monument, again, since that one is hard to miss in D.C.. The monument is 555 feet tall, which translates to a little under 170 meters high which is quite impressive! So we started out at the Washington Monument and we headed for the Second World War Memorial. Nearby is the Lincoln Memorial with the huge statue of Abe sitting in his chair. It got darker soon and we proceeded to the Korean War Memorial. At the Korean War Memorial, two guys were discussing when the Korean War happened and they came up with 1955. I couldn’t help myself but telling them that the war started in 1950 and ended in 1953.. Guess, the historian in me is never sleeping… Anyways, we headed for the FDR Memorial which is a huge memorial! There are several ‘chambers’ for his four terms of being president. Afterward, the Jefferson Memorial was the Monument by Light we went to see. It is located at a lake and it has the shape of a Pantheon, just like the one in Rome. Only inside, there is a huge statue of Thomas Jefferson. To conclude our tour, we went to see the White House, but we couldn’t come there since it was closed or something, we still don’t know exactly why. So we decided to go to the Capital Building, which has an impressive dome, lighten up in the night!

Today, we’ll have a goodbye-Niklas-have-a-good-trip-back-to-Germany-brunch. Afterwards, I have to get out my laundry and go and buy some more water. Afterwards I might go downtown to the National Mall and read my book nearby the Washington Monument in the grass. You don’t really want to go to museums or the monuments or memorials during the weekend, since it’s awfully busy wwith tourists then, so I might do that during next week 🙂 Have yourself a lovely weekend!

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

